Genesis 19-22

“I dare say that David could take on John Wayne or James Bond anyday; yet this true man is unashamed to admit his desperate dependence on god”

Ok now I’m well aware of the fact that David was not even close to being on the scene yet come chapter 22 of Genesis. However, this is my blog and I can put whatever quotes I like in it. Now with that being said I will get back on point.

I’ve reached a very important moment in history during these last few chapters. And yes with the recent joyful news that I will soon be a father these chapters were read in a totally different way then before.

“Take your son, your only son—yes, Isaac, whom you love so much—and go to the land of Moriah. Go and sacrifice him as a burnt offering on one of the mountains, which I will show you.”

Wow. Hold on a second. Just a couple chapters before God told Abraham that he was going to bless him with a son and that through him his descendants would be as countless as the stars. Now he is suppose to kill him, kill his son? As we know the story goes on and God blesses Abraham’s faithfulness by sparing Isaacs life. But that’s not what I’m focusing on.

Nothing! That’s what I own. That’s what belongs to me and that’s what I’ve earned. Yet daily I live my life for this things of no value. I live my life as if its mine to live and do with what I please. How do you get to that kind of faith. Where you need NOTHING but God. I’m trying, but this is a journey. And I don’t think I was excepting it to be quit this hard this soon. Just goes to show God picks your path not you. I would have picked a nice easy steady climb to the top. Instead he through me at the face of the cliff and said “Go up”. I guess I go up, or fall down.

Leave a Reply

