You can’t live life scared

It’s 1:05 in the morning and I am exhausted!  However, I can not sleep.  I can’t sleep because my mind is racing a million miles a second.  Throughout the 24ish days I have been keeping this blog, I have laid out hints of what it is . What I’m going through.  The truth is most of the time I don’t even know.  I know that on January 26th I decided to open my bible and read Genesis chapter 1, and then proceed to read one chapter a day until I finished the entire bible.  I know that I have a love for the sport of endurance that has seen a rebirth with my brother from a different mother Mike getting into the game.  I noticed somewhere in the middle of reading “Born to Run” that I had been waiting for 26 years to actually start living my life.  I realized somewhere along the lines that it was going to take me 3 years 3 months and 4 days to actual finish the journey I am on with God’s word. I notice how much easier and tougher my life became when I started to seek after God.  I discovered a love for family, friends and life that I didn’t know was possible.  And finally I realized that the long 3 year journey I have set out to finish will only be the start of the real journey at hand. 

I’m tired of living scared, of wondering if I’m going to make it.  I’m tired of fighting the wrong fight, and even more tired of the low expectations I have set for my life .  Now to tottaly go off subject because it is now 1:18am, the picture above says it all…UNSCARED.  That’s how I’m going to live my life.  For those of you who don’t know the man in the picture, thats Brian Mackenzie, or BMAC as he is called.  He is the owner of Crossfit Newport Beach and Crossfit Endurance, and one serious ultrarunner. I love reading his stuff; interview, articles, you name it. He has a passion  for life and for what he does. That’s his motto “UNSCARED” and I’ve decided it’s going to be mine too (hope you don’t mind bMac).  I’m tired of sitting around talking about all the things I WANT to do, but never about the things I HAVE done.  So I’ve made a very big decision….I’M GOING TO STARTING LIVING MY LIFE….UNSCARED…To start I’m going to do the little things I enjoy. Walks with Lauren, dinner with friends, laying outside in the grass, running at midnight. All of it. I’m tired of putting boundaries on my life, and for what? To be unhappy? What’s the point in that? God did not design us to sit around and be passive. He didn’t give us the world so we could sit at home on the couch blogging (ok I had to rip on myself a little). No he gave us the world for adventure. He gave us mountains to climb, trails to run, oceans to swim.  He gave us friends to enjoy, people to love and a life to live.  He told us to be wild, dangerous and free.  He told us to take risk, have fun and get dirty.  If our main purpose in life is to bring him glory then why aren’t we living with the spirit he created us to live with.  We are not house pets, caged animals. We are free, the earth is our play ground and he set no limits in where we can go and what we can do.  So what if people think you are crazy, let them be the ones who lay in the beds when their 90 years old thinking back over all the things they didn’t do.  Sure it may kill us along the way (we got to die someday) but at least we lived.  What makes you come alive?  What makes you feel free? Maybe if you figure that out God just might show up along the way.  It’s kind of hard to find him when you’re not our looking.  It’s time that people leave their houses, it’s time christians leave the buildings on they go to on Sunday.  There’s a world out there, it’s time to be UNSCARED.

1:39 I think I’ll go to bed now, I have a life I need energy for.

2 Responses to “You can’t live life scared”

  1. Em McAllister Says:

    Dude I LOVE this post! It is such an amazing testament and encouragement to me. I’m working my way through Proverbs and one of the things I read today was that when I ask, God is faithful to give me wisdom and when I receive His wisdom it gives me the power to face life honestly and COURAGEOUSLY…that really hit home for me today – I’m so tired of being anxious and scared and like you put it “fighting the wrong fight”. So here’s to being unscared and courageous in our walks with God through this crazy life.

    Thanks for being an inspiration and encouragement to me as always – you’re constantly in my prayers…love ya kid…

  2. dude, i’ve been realizing the same things. one thing that keeps coming back to me is that fear should not be a motivation to do or not to anything. so often it is for me and i’m not gonna let it happen anymore. unscared bro.

Leave a Reply

