What Is Your Passion?

So this year has been about a lot of things, but most importantly I think it has been about that aged old question of “Who am I think that is a question we all have asked ourselves at least once in our life.  I know for me it is something I have been wondering for years.  Who am I? What do I love? What makes me come alive?

I’ve been going crazy for the past couple weeks because I couldn’t pin point that one thing, the one thing that is Greg.  One second it’s my crazy idea to want to run the Western States 100 with my boy Mike.  Ever since I read “Born to Run” this January it’s all I thought about.  Then June 11th hits, and my love affair for the World Cup takes over and the crazed football (soccer) fan that I am comes out and the next thing I know I’m watching 140+ hours of soccer, wearing an American Flag bandana and singing soccer songs.  But just like it does every four years the World Cup will draw to a close and I’ll go back to my daily Fox Soccer Channel and watching the world’s greatest game whenever my time allows.

But before all that can happen the Tour De France will start and I will be so wrapped up in Lance Armstrong that I wont be able to give myself the time need to grieve that the World Cup has ended.  I’ll still have that American flag bandana out watching hours upon hours of television coverage just to catch just the shorts glimpse of Armstrong as he flys by the tv screen. And this will all lead to once again my love for the sport of endurance taking over and every waking hour of my time I will think of how I can bust out grab my bike and see how far my legs can take me in a single days time.

But we once again will run into yet another problem,The Crossfit Games that will take place once again in mid July and shows me that we have come full circle and I’m longing to hit my garage for whatever brutality that I can think up to destroy myself with. So what does a man who has so many different loves and interests, what can he say defines himself?  What is my passion? ALL OF IT!  My passion is that I’m passionate about everything I love.  It doesn’t matter what it is, I don’t know how to go into it halfway.  It’s all of nothing.  Family, friends, sports, running/working out and hopefully my relationship with GOD, I try to give it my all. 

Maybe that’s not what having a passion is at all, but it’s good enough for me. I love a lot of things and I use to think that one of those things had to define me as a person, but really it’s not what I love that tells the world who I am, it’s how I love it.

*SIDE NOTE*
I’m well aware that there was no mention of THE Ohio State Buckeyes in this post.  It was long enought and if I even began to describe how I feel about the Buckeyes, well it would have been a very long post.  Those of you who know me know my true and one love.  O! H! I! O!

Leave a Reply

