The Journey

The main reason I started this blog was so i could have a place to write down my thoughts, fears, self revelations on this journey through the sport of life. Sometimes though I get so caught up in the “Sport of Life” that I forget the whole “Journey” part of it all. I’m a person who loves to conquer challenges, I love check lists and to be able to say “I did that”. It is there in ever aspect of my life. 400 pound dead lift? Check! Sub 20 minute 5k? Check! Run Western States? Check! Become the perfect man of GOD? Check! These are all the things I’m striving for, wanting to check off my list of life. I don’t think anyone would say these are bad goals, especially wanting to become a perfect (which of course will never happen) man of GOD. But should these end goals, these results of hard work, these check marks, should they be what truly matters? Or should it be the process, the actual hard work it took to get there? I mean whats the point of achieving goals if they blinded you of everything the journey was trying to teach you along the way? I was talking to my brother Kyle about this the other day, and he was telling me how sometimes life just feels like your climbing a mountain. Sometimes on this mountain you think about quitting, giving up and how you’d do anything just to be at the top. Then when you get there and you look out over everything you did, all it took to get there, and you see how beautiful it all looks and you wish you would have spent a little time along the climb to really appreciate it all. Because no matter how many mountains you end up climbing there is always going to be another one.

So if this post means anything it would be this. Set goals, have places you want to go in life, try to achieve something. But always remember to enjoy every step, every sight, every breath of the journey along the way.

2 Responses to “The Journey”

  1. Enjoying the climb…the journey…this is something I’m really learning this year. Not an easy lesson for the goal and list-oriented!

  2. I feel like I’m learning this lesson in a slightly different form…lots of waiting on God and learning how to “actively wait” and rest with him in the meantime. I’m glad to be on this journey with you, brother!

Leave a Reply

