Chapter 1 Part 1

“I have come that they may have life, and have it to the fullest”-John 10:10

“I am the bread of life”-John 6:48

“Whoever believes in me, as the Scripture has said, streams of living water will flow from within him”-John 7:38

“Come to me to have life”-John 5:40

Man John brings up some great questions and insights that I have never stop to consider. He begins chapter one with one of my favorite quotes, but it’s also something I have a hard time grasping and figuring out.

“The glory of God is man fully alive” – Saint Irenaeus

Fully alive! Now that sounds great, but how do you live fully alive. John used the above verses to try to show his point that Jesus came to give us life now, not later. I have to admit that I often fall into the mind set that what Jesus is refering to here is not so much our earthly lives now, but eternal life. He came so that one day we may be free, but why don’t we ever see that day as today?

“I tell you the truth” Jesus said to them, “no one who has left home or wifeor brothers or parents or children for the sake of the kingdom of God will fail to receive many times as much in THIS age and, in the age to come, eternal life” -Luke 18:29-30

This age? We can have that life now? For me this is the gossple that I have been longing and hoping for. A gosspal that gives us hope and life in the now, not just in eternity.

Eternity. This as another topic touched on in the begining past of chapter one. John goes on to define eternity as “unending” not “later”. Unending? I never really thought of life as unending in the sence of it doesn’t stop when you die and start again when you get to heaven. Eternal life began the day we believe with our hearts and confessed with our mouths. We are living in that eternity right now. So, if eternal life is the life Jesus came to bring us and eternity starts now, then maybe just maybe Jesus came for us to have life RIGHT NOW.

“The glory of God is man fully alive”

Now how do we live like this?

Leave a Reply

