Chapter 2, Part 2

“After my friend Julie saw “The fellowship of the Ring”, she turned to the girl with her and whispered, “We’ve just gotten a clearer view of reality then we usually see.” Yes-that’s the kind of “seeing” we need; that IS our reality. What grabbed me was the theatrical trailer for the film. In a brilliantly crafted three-minute summary, the preview captures the essential mythic elements of the story. As scene after scene races before the eyes of the viewer, and Gandalf describes the tale, the lines cross the screen:

Fate has choseb him..
A Fellowship will protect him..
Evil will hunt him..

Yes-that’s it. That is the life Christianity is trying tto explain to the worl. Better, that is the reality into which Christianity is the door. If we could believe that about our lives, and come to KNOW that it true, everything would change. We would be so much more able to interpret the events unfolding around us, against us. We would. Discover the task that is ours alone to fulfill. We would find our courage. The hour is late, and you are needed. So much hangs in the balance. Where is your heart?”
(Waking the Dead pg.35)

Do I belive that? Do I say that about my life? Do I believe I was choosen by fate? That I have a Fellowship protecting me because Evil is hunting me. How would my view of the world change if I saw it more Mythical?

“Do you think I’m trying to weave a spell? Perhaps I am; but remember your fairy tales. Spells are used for breaking enchantments as well as for inducing them. And you and I have need of the strongest spell that can be found to wake us from the evil enchantment of worldliness which has been laid upon us for nearly a hundred years” (C.S. Lewis, The Weight of Glory)

Leave a Reply

