Moving On

Last spring I read a book called “Fathered by God”. It was absolutely amazing and hit home for me in a way that rarely ever happens. While reading that book last spring/summer I have never felt more connected to God. I was riding such a spiritual high while I journeyed through that book that I actually felt saddened when I was done reading it. I didn’t really know what to do next. While I read it I never really applied it to my life in a way to keep fostering change once the book had ended.  It stirred up a lot of questions but I never really took the time to come face to face with those questions.

So that’s what I am doing now. At the beginning of the book, it is encouraged to reread the book a second time and to follow a workbook written to go with the book itself. So that is what I am going to do. I have never really been one to do “homework” as a why to get close to God. It always seemed to “Sunday school” for me. But the workbook is intentionally written in a way to try to avoid that. Its not written as a lesson plan to be completed in so many weeks. But as a map to help guide you along the journey laid out in the book.

So here is to my new experience. I’m hoping to read through the life of David as I do this study as a way to see Biblical application of the message trying to be learned from the book. So here is to the next stage of the journey. I will try to update on here as much as possible this process, but at the same time it is a little more personal then anything I have ever done and the goal is to strengthen my one on one relationship with God, so we’ll see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

