Keep Never Changing

So I’ll just go on being me
Won’t be hard I’ll just stay on the path I chose
There’s no reason
That I can’t keep on keeping on.
Don’t concern yourself with it it’s not for you.
It was never for you to say
Not saying it’s right
Not saying it’s wrong
It’s just the way I chose to go
Not saying it’s wrong.
Now I sit back and think about
The last ten years
I think I finally figured it out.
When I decided to keep my windshield clean
So that I can see what’s in front of me
-The Movielife

Saturday night, as my wife slept in the passenger, I drove late into the night back to my parents house after my 10 year high school reunion. I realized how much has changed in ten 10 years and how far I’ve come in my life and everything I’ve gone through. From the scrawny shy kid who was scared over everyone and embarrassed by everything, to the high school kid who hid his insecurities behind humor and a willingness to embarrass myself for a laugh. Then there was the college kid who finally realized he had no idea who he was or what he wanted. I guess what I’m trying to say is that everything in my past has shaped me into the man I am becoming today, and while I refuse to allow myself to regret anything I have done, I also refuse to dwell on it and focus on who I am now and who I want to become. And for the first time in my life I know exactly who that man is. The fun part will be the journey to becoming that man.

 

Leave a Reply

